Ranting on my first blog post..shame, shame.

So, It’s terrible that I’m making my first blog post a rant…but today (and yesterday) have been rather terrible. I guess I should give a bit of background information. I was diagnosed with both fibromyalgia and Raynauds syndrome last month or so.

To explain, this is a rather good definition of what Fibromyalgia is for those who don’t know:

Fibromyalgia is a medical disorder characterized by chronic widespread pain and allodynia, a heightened and painful response to pressure.[1] Fibromyalgia symptoms are not restricted to pain, leading to the use of the alternative term fibromyalgia syndrome for the condition. Other symptoms include debilitating fatigue, sleep disturbance, and joint stiffness. Some patients[2] may also report difficulty with swallowing,[3] bowel and bladder abnormalities,[4] numbness and tingling,[5] and cognitive dysfunction.[6] Fibromyalgia is frequently comorbid with psychiatric conditions such as depression and anxiety and stress-related disorders such as posttraumatic stress disorder.[7][8] Not all people with fibromyalgia experience all associated symptoms.
For the record: I experience widespread pain (off and on), the BIG issue is the muscle tightness and weakness. It’s to the point that I have a horrible time with mobility. As of recently, I have had an issue with getting on the campus bus because the step to get onto the bus is so high, and if my muscles don’t function…I can’t lift my leg up that high NOR can I pull myself up there. Now, the buses DO have ramps they can lower to assist those who are handicapped. Unfortunately, physically I look normal…but physically I’m not. Some bus drivers, maybe like 2, will lower the ramp for me. Most, however, have not and give me an exceedingly hard time about it. I’ve been unable to ride the bus in the past few weeks, so I have walked across campus to and from classes….a 30 minute walk for me because my legs make it hard to walk fast. It has been in the negatives for the past few days…so that makes it hard. On TOP of that, I have raynauds syndrome.
Raynauds: (also a disorder)

  1. When exposed to cold temperatures, the blood supply to the fingers or toes, and in some cases the nose or earlobes, is markedly reduced; the skin turns pale or white (called pallor), and becomes cold and numb.
  2. When the oxygen supply is depleted, the skin colour turns blue (called cyanosis). If the color progresses to purple, resembling a bruise that doesn’t go away (or spreads in size) and is accompanied by excruciating pain, contact your doctor immediately.
  3. These events are episodic, and when the episode subsides or the area is warmed, the blood flow returns and the skin colour first turns red (rubor), and then back to normal, often accompanied by swelling, tingling, and a painful “pins and needles” sensation.

I have experienced all three, on a daily basis probably. So you can imagine how going out in the cold, and walking 30 minutes across campus affects me. So I’m fucked either way it seems.

I’m going to my doctor in March over spring break in hopes that there is medication he can give me for these issues. I’m really REALLY tired of not being able to do the things I want to fucking do.  End Rant.

On the BRIGHT side (if there is such a thing), no school Friday. I can get ahead on some studying for my three tests next week…and possibly catch a nap or two…and maybe clean my messy ass dorm room. We’ll see.

Oh, on a side note: this video is hilarious: Please view and enjoy

Sexy Sax Man

Peace bitches ❤

About therocknwriter

Yours truly. A somewhat cranky, highly sarcastic, but usually mild mannered poet with a love for Coheed and Cambria, body modification, smoothies, video games, a good book, and vegetarian delights. I love being an Oreo, and I hope you'll love me for it too

Posted on February 8, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a Reply

