Putting it together

I’ve had this line in my head for awhile…it’s one I rather like. It hasn’t turned into a full piece, but I hope that it will. It’s actually in the about me section…

“I want to be the one under your skin, in the place you let no on else in” I changed it a bit…I like the addition of ‘else’ in there.  I’m hoping to have time to work on this, but I’m sure inspiration will hit me.
Inspiration is an unusual thing. It tends to hit me at random times…when I’m vacuuming, at 3:30 am, when I’m trying to accomplish something ELSE…Yeah. I have been trying various exercises to be able to be self-inspiring to write pieces. It’s in my hopes to be able to write more efficiently. I’ve taken quite the liking to doing word spills. This is where you go to a word document, turn the font to white, and just type for a set amount of minutes non stop. This will get all the ideas out of your head. Next, you turn the font back to color and edit it. It’s been really helpful and I have written some damn good poems this way. I got the idea on the wordspill group on deviantart, which is a great place ❤ This one I wrote, is my absolute favorite. This is the end result, after everything was edited.

Word Spill: Clock Work

Everything in life
Seems to be measured in time
The tick-tock of whatever’s left of
Yesterday
And no necessary promise for a better Tomorrow
We walk this earth
Holding on to what life we have lived
Dreams of a life we wish we had
What we want to do, and when we want to do it
But nothing is ever quite that way

Life, in itself
Is measured by day
Placing value on everything
So nothing is as ‘Humdrum’ as it seems
And no one could question
Our purpose or place

Everything is relative
And sacred
And significant
Every second we breath
Make a choice
Take a bow
Break a heart
But why do we nitpick
And dissect
And make excuses
Holding on to our stopwatches
Timing every error made by man
As the end of our days
Seem to be creeping up
And we’re beside ourselves
With worry
That the time we spend
The very moment in which we are defined
Means absolutely nothing at all

For every second we hold
Ourselves back
Worrying about what people will think
Or say
We lose a second of what could have been
Trying to decipher what is to come
Forgetting that there could be another day
To try again
To make things right
But we’re too caught up
In Clockwork

 

For those who like to write, or do any type of art, feel free to share what gets you inspired the most 🙂 I love to know how people find their “muse”, if you will.

Rawr ❤

About therocknwriter

Yours truly. A somewhat cranky, highly sarcastic, but usually mild mannered poet with a love for Coheed and Cambria, body modification, smoothies, video games, a good book, and vegetarian delights. I love being an Oreo, and I hope you'll love me for it too

Posted on February 9, 2011, in Musings of a Poet. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I usually get inspired by one phrase or sentence. I’m not sure how many poems I have made just to put a certain phrase that was running through my head all day. Do you ever get the “perfect phrase” ever stuck in your head? Something that just seems to ring true with everything you are thinking at the time.

    • Dude. That’s exactly it, you totally get it. I’ll be doing something (or going through something) and a phrase will pop into my head…and it’ll be BRILLIANT. I then take that and just go from there. I have a folder on my computer of random phrases that I hope to turn into full poems when the inspiration hits me. I think that’s how most of my poems come to be. Ironically enough, today alone, I thought of two random phrases. “I want to be the one under your skin, in the place you let no one else in” and “The intoxicated alibi” lol I Don’t even know, but somehow they turn into good poems (I think they’re good) Heh 🙂

Leave a Reply

