Moving Up in the Knitting World (?)

So. I’ve been knitting for a few months…and I have knitted various things for people as Christmas gifts mainly. After making a crap ton of hats, someone suggested I try selling my hats on etsy (a website for buying and/or selling handmade crafts). I have purchased many things on etsy and I do adore the site…I just never considered selling my stuff really. I guess I just never think anyone would actually BUY what I’m selling. However, I figure it’s worth a shot…you never know till you try right? So, I think I’m going to give it a go. There’s a lot I need to research and figure out…but I THINK I can at least make a few sales 😛 I just got to think of a name…any suggestions would be appreciated. I will be selling hats, if that helps. I want a name that will stand out. I guess I gotta look at other shops on etsy and see what names are out there…so I won’t be too similar. I also gotta see what I’m up against..lol I’m trying not to be discouraged before I even start. So yeah…that’s my plan for after the new year. I’m going to start planning NOW and then after the new year I will set up shop. So if you have ANY suggestions for names I could use, feel free to list them. If someone comes up with the one I actually pick…free hat for you. No, I’m serious. If I end up picking a name suggested here, then I will knit you a hat and send it to you. Not sure if that’s any incentive…I will have to post the other photo of the other hat I just finished making. Thanks Guys!

About therocknwriter

Yours truly. A somewhat cranky, highly sarcastic, but usually mild mannered poet with a love for Coheed and Cambria, body modification, smoothies, video games, a good book, and vegetarian delights. I love being an Oreo, and I hope you'll love me for it too

Posted on December 15, 2011, in Knitting/Crochet Adventures and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I love knitting too and love making wacky things as well as beautiful things. I knit little things for little people and am about to start yarn bombing which, from your profile, I think you might like! 🙂

    • It’s ironic you mention yarn bombing. One of my friends from my university started knitting around the time I did and had mentioned it. She described it like…graffiti but with yarn. Sounds super cool. I was looking up stuff about it. There’s some knitting groups here in Chicago that do yarn bombing…I’m considering giving it a go sometime 🙂 I have only been knitting for about a year, so I’m still learning but it’s so much fun, relaxing and therapeutic. I’ve done mostly hats and scarves but now I’m working on a blanket and a pair of socks! I’d like to learn more about yarn bombing if you have anything to share.

      • It’d be fun to think that we were both starting to yarn bomb at the same time, in Cornwall and Chicago! I like that! The book I mention in today’s post gives some really easy ideas for beginners as well as some complicated designs for people much more skilled than I am! 🙂

      • Ahhh alrighty. I’ll go take a peek 🙂 It sounded really cool but I had no idea where to start 😛 And I agree, it’s fun we both started at the same time…but oceans apart. Small world huh? 😉 I always enjoy trying something new, so thanks for the help!

Leave a Reply

