E3 2012 Day 1: A Review

So. I love video games lol I’m one of the slightly rare female gamers. And I just mean that because majority of gamers are still male. The few girls that I know play video games…play weak ass casual games (nothing wrong with those, I guess) and stuff like the Sims 😛 Which is alright i guess, to each their own? Don’t get me wrong, I do like those games too.  However, I like a wide variety of games. I enjoy the classics like Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time (my favorite game of all time), Mario Party, Kirby 64 etc. I like racing games…well actually just one: Burnout. I don’t like NFS, it’s not nearly as entertaining as Burnout. NFS might have pretty cars, but burnout has takedowns and crash mode. I like the whole rockband and guitar hero franchise as well. I also enjoy games like DragonAge, Skyrim, Final Fantasy and the like. Most of all, I like shooters. I LOVE shooters. Halo, Call of Duty, Fallout, splinter cell, and especially….Borderlands. I go through this explanation to really just say that: as a gamer, I keep up with games that are set to come up or consoles set to come out as well. So, it’s natural that I enjoy watching E3 every year. After watching coverage from today, here is my take:

Microsoft: really? Usher? Really? Ok, let me start over. Microsoft kind of sold out this year. In my opinion, at least. They spent more time talking about stuff like Xbox Glass, what MORE unnecessary stuff we can do in Xbox live, more ways of being “connected” with smart devices, blah blah blah than they talked about actual games. When they brought out Usher to perform once introducing Dance Central 3, I nearly lost it. Can we say sellout? This isn’t the fucking MTV awards, seriously. Usher, shame on you. Way to try to be relevant. If he was actually PLAYING the game, perhaps that might suffice (but why the need for celebrities and name drops?). Now, it wasn’t all so bad. There were some pretty slick games xbox will be rolling out next year that I want to buy. Splinter Cell: Blacklist looks SICK. I want this game so badly. I actually was never a huge fan of splinter cell. I had played it before but it was so-so for me. The newest once (coming out in 2013) looks amazing. I just might become a fan of it from this game.

Halo 4 also looks promising. I had been tired of Halo by this point…but the graphics and gameplay for Halo 4 might reel me back in. We shall see. Oh, and the new Tomb Raider looks great too. I am a bit annoyed that everyone is like “Uhhh…it’s just an uncharted wannabe”. Can we do a recap? Last I check, Tomb raider came B E F O R E uncharted. So don’t give me that shit. Moving right along…Microsoft showed us a lot of sporting games. That’s great if you’re into that. I like football a lot but I don’t think I’d sit back and play it for hours. So I’ll pass. Also, Black Ops 2….did we NOT see that coming? I already have Black Ops, and the gameplay didn’t seem remarkably different. So I’ll stick with the first Black Ops. Thanks. Resident Evil 6 looks pretty great too. I might be interested in getting that. Depends. So basically Splinter Cell and Halo 4 and maybe Tomb raider is all Microsoft had to show for this year. Oh! And let me not forget…Fable: The Journey. <—Pumped and buying this game when it comes out. Otherwise, Microsoft gets a mostly failing grade from me lol Maybe next  time.

Halo 4 Demo Gameplay:

EA: I usually hate EA. And I guess I still do. Well not hate, but they don’t put out games that I can honestly give a shit about. Again, not into sports and that’s mainly what EA is known for. Um. The only game they had that was worth noting was Dead Space 3. Dead space 3 will be awesome…and Co-op too. Everything else was sports and UFC…and Crysis 3 which isn’t bad, but not hot on my list. I suppose it wasn’t as boring and irrelevant as Microsofts coverage though. lol I WILL say I was NOT impressed with the new Need for Speed…it looks like another copy cat to burnout. If you’re going to be Need for Speed…BE need for speed. Don’t try to mimic burnout (but adding in cop cars, I’m not stupid). Not impressed.

Ubisoft: Ubisoft…thank GOD for Ubisoft. They really saved the day after a lackluster bit of coverage up until now. They have a handful of games that I thought were pretty damn great. They went over Splinter Cell again, and again…I was P U M P E D. Still. Moving on. Assassins Creed III doesn’t look half bad either…surprisingly. I liked the  first two, but I wasn’t sure if I wanted to play this BUT…I am pretty  impressed with the game play. Again, not sure I’ll get it as soon as it comes out, but I will keep an eye out on it. Far Cry 3 was a snooze fast, so I don’t have much to say on that. The most exciting game Ubisoft has to offer is Watch Dogs. It looks so bad ass. To describe it, it’s somewhat in the realm of Heavy Rain. Very good storylines.

“The game’s near-future premise involves a single supercomputer controlling major cities. Our lives are controlled by computers, “but who controls the computers?” The game focuses on data turning against us. Data is interconnected and “everything can be hacked.” Straight from the conference coverage for  Watch Dogs. *shown above*

I love you Ubisoft ❤

Sony: I was very pleased with Sony, for the most part. They did very well this year. I got to see what I was expecting and some new things as well. Firstly, The Last of Us. I almost thought it was Uncharted for a second…but no, it is not lol I like the action and the fighting technique you can use in this game. I’m not sure if I’ll get it when it released in 2013 but…it is something I will definitely be looking closely at. Beyond: Two Souls looks good. It has an eerie feel to it. Feels Sci-Fi like. The main character wakes up with no memory of who she is. She appears to have these weird abilities and connection (I’m guessing) to whats “beyond” our human world. Seems legit. lol Wonderbook is a load of shit. Period. Um. God of War: Ascension looks killer. I want  that game so badly. The gameplay was amazing and the fighting was even better than the previous God of War. I guess I got turned into a fan girl. Oops 😉

Oh…one thing I did NOT like…was Playstation All-star Battle Royal. What a load of shit. It’s a copy cat to super smash bros brawl…and not a good one. The graphics were not up to snuff, in my opinion. I was so excited for it since some of my favorite characters from playstation games were going to be playable characters (Ex: Sweet Tooth from Twisted Metal). Hell, the background was more exciting than the actual characters fighting. Sony can go somewhere with that. PS move still sucks and nobody cares. Uh…and both Hitman: Absolution and Borderlands 2…well, already on my pre-odered list. 😉 Oh, and Resident Evil 6…not too shabby. We’ll see.

All in all, not bad for a first long day of E3 coverage. I’m terribly excited to see what Nintendo will be sliding out at their conference tomorrow. Hopefully saving the best for last (even though I like sony and Microsoft more in terms of games…but Nintendo never fails to impress).

If you watched the coverage, let me know what you thought. Anything you liked? Anything disappointing for you? (Other than Usher dancing). Any games you were hoping to see but didn’t (….like GTAV). Let me know and i’ll see you all back here tomorrow for my review on Nintendo..and whatever else. 🙂 Au Revoir

For those who didn’t watch. You can still see everything that happened right here: E3 Conference Coverage

 

About therocknwriter

Yours truly. A somewhat cranky, highly sarcastic, but usually mild mannered poet with a love for Coheed and Cambria, body modification, smoothies, video games, a good book, and vegetarian delights. I love being an Oreo, and I hope you'll love me for it too

Posted on June 4, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. ❤ the ORIGINAL NFS. Screw these Burnout clones!

    Watch_Dogs… so excited for it. Hope they don't mess it up, and hopefully will be as exciting as BioShock is!

    • Yeah. Lol I just feel like that’s strike two for NFS…but at the same time strike three. I’m sure people who like NFS are tired of them being something that they’re not. Also Woooo for Watch Dogs…I can’t wait for it to come out.

Leave a Reply

