E3 Day 2: Nintendo

I just want to start by saying that I was pretty pumped for the Nintendo conference at E3. There aren’t a huge amount of games I play from Nintendo. For the most part I stick to the Legend of Zelda franchise, Brawl, Mario Party and a handful of others from time to time. However, I always commend Nintendo for coming up with new and innovative (as far as I see it) games and consoles. I have to say overall I was pretty satisfied with what Nintendo had to offer. At least from what I was able to see. They did not go into great detail into absolutely everything they had, but that’s mainly because they wanted to spend most of their time on presenting the Wii-U. When I first heard about it, I wasn’t really attentive because I didn’t really know what it was. The Wii-U, which is set to be released around the holidays, is Nintendo’s next console. The controller with it (which people are most familiar with seeing probably) is now called the ‘Game Pad’. This is of course due to the pad shape of the controller.

It is tablet sized with clickable, dual-analog thumbsticks. There are a few fresh buttons, such as “TV,” and a hub for near-field communication. It looks SEXY…in black lol There is a white version too, but I’ll pass ๐Ÿ˜› I got a bit psyched when they started mentioning games that will be released for the Wii-U. I BELIEVE they said it would be around 22 games: both first and third party games. They didn’t list all of them, but there were some that I think I would want. The New Super Mario Bros was the first to be presented. It has both the feel of the usual Super Mario bros, but with a twist with the capability of the Wii-U. With the Wii-U, you can play your games on the Game Pad WITHOUT having to have the Tv On. Which I think is kinda neat. If you use the Wii-U while others are using their wii-remote for Super Mario bros-U, the person with the gamepad can use it to place blocks and obstacles in the way of the other characters playing. There are a lot of other different things you can do with the Wii-U and it depends on each game you are playing. The other games I am looking forward to thus far are Batman Arkham City, Zombie-U and Tekken Tag Tournament 2. I have always been a fan of Tekken and I have been waiting for Tekken Tag tournament 2.

I am not fully sure if I’ll get it for the Wii-U or If I’ll get it for another system. However, the concept of having it on the gamepad seems pretty cool. I always have the issue of wanting to play one of my console games….at the same time when someone wants to watch television. The Wii-U eliminates this issue, which I enjoy. I played most of Batman Arkham City, but never finished (it wasn’t my copy) and I planned on buying it for myself. I like how you can manipulate the gadgets in the game with a bit more precision using the Wii-U. Lastly, I love zombie games and Zombie-U looks amazing. I was surprised how great the graphics were. Nintendo generally have graphics that are light hearted, since most of their games are for the casual gamer. However, Zombie-U looks like something out of the realm of Sony or Microsoft.

I can’t guarantee I will buy it straight away. It comes down to what other games will be released for it, as well as the price. I heard rumors that it might be pretty expensive. I am hoping it’ll be affordable. I don’t mind putting down a pretty penny for games (i have a lot of consoles, and games) but with the holidays coming around…the only money I really have goes towards gifts for other people blah blah blah. So we will see. I will post a link for the video for anyone interested in seeing the Nintendo Conference but didn’t get a chance to. I know the 3DS conference is on tonight sometime…but I don’t own one so I won’t be watching. Overall, not the best E3 conference overall BUT….not bad. There are a lot of games I am looking forward to. Thoughts? Let me know what you thought of E3 this year, if you watched. If not, I suppose what you thought of what I said about the conference overall. If you missed my review from Sony and Microsoft, I posted it yesterday so it is the Day 1 Review. Go take a looksie ๐Ÿ™‚

Oh. I really liked Zombie-U, so here’s the trailer to it from E3 ๐Ÿ˜›

Here’s my list overall:

Fable: The Journey

Splinter Cell: Blacklist

Beyond: Two Souls

Watch Dogs

Dead Space 3

God of War: Ascension

The Last of Us

Halo 4

Wii-U (possibly: Batman: Arkham City, Zombie-U, Mario Bros-U…maybe Mass Effect 3)

Here’s to a good year in gaming! โค

Nintendo E3 Press Conference 2012

 

 

 

About therocknwriter

Yours truly. A somewhat cranky, highly sarcastic, but usually mild mannered poet with a love for Coheed and Cambria, body modification, smoothies, video games, a good book, and vegetarian delights. I love being an Oreo, and I hope you'll love me for it too

Posted on June 5, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

