My Gripe on…group work.

I hate group work. Don’t ask where  this particular rant is coming from because I’m not so sure myself. But the fact remains the same, I hate group work. I have been plagued with working in groups, as most students have, throughout my academic career. It wasn’t so bad during grade school, but it started to get worse in high school. In college? Probably the worst. I’m a senior in college now, with one semester left, and I look back at my group work experience and cringe. I consider myself to be both ambitious and hard working when it comes to most things, especially academics. I’ve always made excellent grades and it’s in part because I put in a lot of effort. I am also a bit of a control freak. So, it comes as no surprise that I don’t appreciate working with others as opposed to working by myself. I am ALWAYS stuck with the type of students I can’t stand worth a damn.

Student type 1: Slacker girl/guy who is just there because he/she has to take whateverthisclassiscalled-oology 200 and has zero intention of: putting in effort, trying to even KNOW what in the  world the assignment is about, and is totally satisfied letting everyone else take up the slack. These students will either screw it all up, not do anything at ALL, or half ass the entire way by not being prepared, etc. Needless to say, I don’t get a long with these type of people much. I normally don’t say much (I’m like the quiet storm, unless provoked) but I’m internally damning said person who is sitting there texting instead of doing anything worthwhile. Either that or mentally trying to shove the phone up their…nose. 😛

Student Type 2: The dumbass. Ever been in a class with a person that you weren’t sure if they had a brain in their own head? I don’t think there’s enough numbers in the world I can count to…to even try to attempt counting how many people I have encountered in this category. It’s both amusing and painful. Amusing because I always get a chuckle listening to the resident ‘airhead’ try to deciper things…and then fail epically. Yet, it’s painful to be STUCK with said person and having to work with them. It’s not so much the lack of effort as demonstrated in Student 1…BUT, sometimes it’s frustrating working with someone who can’t rub two brain cells together. Most of the time, I have to keep myself from head desking a dent into my own head.

Student 3:…another overachiever. Which is not a problem unless the person is the competitive type. Then we have issues lol Control freak, remember?

For the most part I have managed to wiggle my way out of group projects. Half the time the other person or people end up not doing anything, so I just request to do my own portion myself. I feel like group projects are some sort of punishment or torture concept invented to spite me. If it goes well, then no problem. But when it doesn’t…it REALLY doesn’t. It really grinds my gears that someone will put forth minimal effort into something, make ME do the work, and still get the same good grade as I did. It puts one in a bad situation. You want them to fail…but that would mean that YOU fail as well. Which for me, is not acceptable on any planet…I’d rather douse my head in gasoline and light a match then sabotage myself.

I think teachers need to put all the slackers and dipshits (for lack of a better name) together in their own group and just see how it goes. I think it would be fantastic and would make for great television. I think we could make some serious money off that. I mean it would probably be more entertaining than some of these other lame reality shows. If I hear about another House Wives of blahblahblah county again, I think I’ll gouge my eyes out.

What I don’t understand is WHY. WHY on earth are people satisfied with half-assing everything? I don’t understand why anybody is okay with being dead weight. I guess that’s just how things are? I don’t know. I have one semester left in undergrad college and I’m crossing my fingers that I won’t have to be subjected to anymore group projects. Of course, then I realize that I will have to work with others in my career. Well, so much for that. I am optimistic that I have a better chance of working with people who actually want to get things done because they’re actually adults. Who knows. I guess only time will tell. Until then, I guess I’ll try to refrain from pulling out every strand of my own hair in frustration at another late night of picking up the slack.

 

Side note: YOLO (You only live once) is Carpe Diem for Stupid people. Well said Jack Black, well said. I’m so entirely irritated hearing that. Please stop taking the first letter of every word of every phrase (that you didn’t even come up with yourself) and putting them together. It’s called an acronym and this one is not even clever. Stop it. Seriously.
See you next week. ❤

About therocknwriter

Yours truly. A somewhat cranky, highly sarcastic, but usually mild mannered poet with a love for Coheed and Cambria, body modification, smoothies, video games, a good book, and vegetarian delights. I love being an Oreo, and I hope you'll love me for it too

Posted on June 27, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. YOLO – if you hear it, you know their IQ is under average.

    That being said, group work has often sucked for me as well. It’s pretty bad in IT if you’ve got the wrong people, as was my first year’s groupwork assignment. Not sure if you remember what we did to the arse that was “working” with us…

Leave a Reply

