Music Mondays: The Spill Canvas

This weeks Music Mondays will be another band feature. I had recently discovered this band about a week or so ago when I was listening to music on my iheartradio app on my phone (which I’d recommend by the way, if you like finding new music). I listened to their song “Appreciation and the bomb”, and fell in love. I looked up some more songs from that album on youtube and they’re gaining appreciation by this music lover ❤

The Spill canvas is an emo acoustic band from South Dakota. Hm, never knew anything so awesome came from South Dakota. Seriously. 😛 They started off as a side project for Nick Thomas, the lead singer. As time passed, it was decided that The Spill Canvas would be a full time band.

I wasn’t aware at first that they were considered “emo acoustic”. I did enjoy their acoustic sound and they had pretty meaningful lyrics. Maybe I need to listen to their beginning albums to see where the emo portion is coming in. I normally don’t listen to emo music or …well emo anything. Regardless of where you want to put them, The Spill Canvas is a jumble of beautiful lyrics and sounds. Emo or not, I can call them an ‘honest’ band. You can easily relate to what’s being sung about and that’s sometimes hard to find. I adore them for it.

My Favorite: Appreciation and the Bomb. It speaks about appreciating life while you can, basically…since most people don’t and take it for granted. I LOVE this song. I hope that you do too. “If there’s one thing I’ve learned, is that we never feel the hear until we get burned” ❤

All Over You. Another great song…more awesomeness to love.

Last one: more romantic, and whatnot. Not usually my speed, but it’s not cheesy.

Happy Listening! See you all next week~

 

About therocknwriter

Yours truly. A somewhat cranky, highly sarcastic, but usually mild mannered poet with a love for Coheed and Cambria, body modification, smoothies, video games, a good book, and vegetarian delights. I love being an Oreo, and I hope you'll love me for it too

Posted on July 16, 2012, in Music Mondays and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Out of curiosity, have you listened to any of Nick Thomas’ other stuff, his ‘main project’ as it were? What was your opinion of it?

    I also remember you linking me to Appreciation and the Bomb. Not a bad little tune, not bad at all. I definitely enjoyed it, and the acoustic version as well.

    • I have not yet. I have some stuff bookmarked to listen to for at a later date. I will pass some your way so you can get a listen yourself. I recommend listening to some other songs by The Spill Canvas. That entire album that Appreciation and the Bomb is on, is gold.

Leave a Reply

