Lean N’ Green. “The Hulk” Smoothie

I have a soft spot for smoothies. They are essential to my day to day life. I love that I can get so much nutrients in a glass of awesome. I like a variety of fruits (except bananas, I hate the little bastards) and ‘greens’ and…other misc things in my smoothies. Since I started becoming vegetarian and eating better, I have been experimenting with different combinations. I have also been drinking more Green Smoothies. This is my favorite so far. If you like Avocado…I HIGHLY recommend you try this. You won’t regret it. I give you…The Hulk.  *Cue Applause*

Serves 1

Ingredients

  • Half a ripe avocado, halved and pitted
  • 1/2 cup spinach. Or more!
  • 1/2 cup low-fat vanilla yogurt
  • 3/4 cup milk (can be substituted with almond or soy milk…I recommend almond or vanilla soy)
  • 3 tsp honey (I generally just use stevia. But you can use either)

1) Combine avocado, spinach, yogurt and honey into a blender.
2) Blend

Optional: You can put it in the fridge or freezer for a few minutes to let it thicken up. I’ve tried it and it was so indulgent. But either way you do it, it’s drool worthy and packed with so much goodness.

Why they’re good for you:Avocados are rich in monounsaturated fat, the heart-healthy kind. Avocados are loaded with a variety of antioxidants, including familiar disease-fighting compounds such as lutein, beta-carotene, and vitamin E. They are considered one of the best fruits for you, health wise!
Spinach is a very nutrient dense green. It’s low in calories yet very high in vitamins and minerals. This leafy green is an excellent source of vitamin K, vitamin A, magnesium, folate, manganese, iron, calcium, vitamin C, vitamin B2, potassium, and vitamin B6. It’s a very good source of protein, phosphorus, vitamin E, zinc, fiber and copper. Plus, it’s a good source of omega-3 fatty acids. Of course you get your calcium from the dairy as well. All of this packed into one glass. It’s sexy. Well…I find it sexy…no judgement.

And it's pretty too. If that helps.

And it’s pretty too. If that helps.

I got myself a tall glass. All that was missing was a beach and a hammock…and my boyfriend fanning me with a large feather ❤

Don’t fear the green, embrace the green! Every smoothie enthusiast should have a “go to” green smoothie ❤ It will be my job to convert you all.

Challenge Accepted.

~Sip on my lovelies: To Good Health~

 

 

 

About therocknwriter

Yours truly. A somewhat cranky, highly sarcastic, but usually mild mannered poet with a love for Coheed and Cambria, body modification, smoothies, video games, a good book, and vegetarian delights. I love being an Oreo, and I hope you'll love me for it too

Posted on March 5, 2013, in Chronicles of a Wannabe Chef </3 and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

