Pesto Pizza

I LOVE pizza. As a Chicago native, I am partial to my deep dish pizza…however, there is nothing remotely healthy about it šŸ˜› Though, deep dish pizza is not something I get on a normal basis if I get pizza. It’s usually for something special. On a normal basis, I generally will eat any kind of pizza. Anything from normal to thin crust. Before I started going on my vegetarian health kick, my favorite type of pizza was a thin crust pizza with pepperoni, feta cheese and garlic. Now, I gotta live without the pepperoni for the time being. No biggie, I love veggie pizza. I’ve been experimenting with different pizza recipes and here is one that I enjoyed. I hope you will as well.

Ingredients

  • 10 ozs pizza crust
  • 3 tbsps pesto (commercial)
  • 1 34 cups plum tomato (slices)(I didn’t have any so I used peppers)
  • 1 cup part-skim mozzarella cheese (shredded)(I used a bit more…)

Preparation

  1. Preheat oven to 450Ā°.
  2. Place pizza crust on a baking pan and spread pesto on top in a thin layer. Arrange tomato slices in a single layer on top, and sprinkle with cheese. Bake at 450Ā° for 10-15 minutes or until golden brown.
I added onions and peppers to mine.

I added onions and peppers to mine.

 

About therocknwriter

Yours truly. A somewhat cranky, highly sarcastic, but usually mild mannered poet with a love for Coheed and Cambria, body modification, smoothies, video games, a good book, and vegetarian delights. I love being an Oreo, and I hope you'll love me for it too

Posted on March 7, 2013, in Chronicles of a Wannabe Chef </3 and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. YUM! I Love pizza too! I make my own pizza using flat bread(for a thinner crust), marinera sauce, sundried tomatoes, basil,and goat cheese. But I do love pesto so I will definitely be testing this recipe out:)

    • I need to try it with a thinner crust. I love thin crust but I’m so terrible when it comes to making my own dough lol It never comes out thin, always just normal. If you have any suggestions, I’ve love to hear! And thanks. Oh it was soooooo good. I didn’t miss the pizza sauce at all šŸ˜› If you try it, let me know how you like it :)! I may have to try that again with the goat cheese…that sounds amazing.

Leave a Reply

