Zucchini & Chocolate Chip Muffins

Ever since I got my own apartment, and having the ability to cook whatever I want (not something I was able to do at my University in the dorms…), I have been on a baking frenzy. Somewhat. Alright, maybe not…but I have been able to bake the things I have wanted to. I also love to experiment. Now that I’m not eating meat for the time being…and my quest for better health at the same time, I want to still enjoy the foods that I eat. I believe in balance. So, here is a balance for you guys lol This is a much better alternative to some of the breakfast pastries you could stuff into your oral cavity ❤ Also, don’t be afraid because you see the word Zucchini there. You won’t even taste them in it. Promise.

You will need:

  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

  • 3/4 cup white sugar

  • 1 teaspoon baking soda

  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

  • 1/2 teaspoon salt

  • 1 egg, lightly beaten

  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil

  • 1/4 cup milk

  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice

  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

  • 1 cup shredded zucchini

  • 1/2 cup miniature semisweet chocolate chips

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease muffin pan
  2. Combine flour, sugar, baking soda, cinnamon, and salt in a bowl. Mix egg, oil, milk, lemon juice, and vanilla extract in another bowl; stir into dry ingredients until just moistened. Add in zucchini, and chocolate chips. Fill each cup 2/3 full.
  3. Bake in preheated oven until a utensil inserted into the center of a muffin comes out clean, 20 to 25 minutes.
Enjoy! You won't even know Zucchini is in it, but those chocolate chips...oh, you'll taste those <3

Enjoy! You won’t even know Zucchini is in it, but those chocolate chips…oh, you’ll taste those ❤

They’re like an indulgence…but they’re only about 210 calories per muffin. So I don’t feel bad at all munching on one, and you shouldn’t either ❤ If you try it, let me know how you like it. Or share a recipe if you have one~

About therocknwriter

Yours truly. A somewhat cranky, highly sarcastic, but usually mild mannered poet with a love for Coheed and Cambria, body modification, smoothies, video games, a good book, and vegetarian delights. I love being an Oreo, and I hope you'll love me for it too

Posted on March 7, 2013, in Chronicles of a Wannabe Chef </3 and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

